Falling in love in a bookstore: MVE launches three new books!

The Harder We Fall and Never Just Friends by Mina V. Esguerra

The Harder We Fall and Never Just Friends by Mina V. Esguerra

Last April 25, Mina V. Esguerra officially launched three of her newest New Adult novellas – Never Just Friends, The Harder We Fall, and Welcome to Envy Park. I arrived a few minutes before 3 p.m., excited and in full fangirl mode. After purchasing two of the three books (they were discounted, yay!), I found out that buying the books that day meant that I could pick a prize. I’m not particularly lucky when it comes to palabunutan, so I didn’t expect anything. But that day, I was two for two; I was one of the first people to win a bottle of wine! Woohoo!

I took a seat near the front and excitedly waited for the event to start. While waiting for everyone to arrive and settle down, Ms. Mina went around and greeted us. We talked a little about her books and about her successful #buqoYA class. Half an hour later, two of the bloggers from Will Read For Feels opened the event. There was a short introduction about the three books being launched before the interview started. Ms. Mina talked about the books, self-publishing, her choice of leading man, and her current and future projects. I was particularly interested in the Mystery/Suspense class that she’s planning towards the end of the year. Hopefully, I’ll get to join and finish a story this time around. That is, if I can juggle that with my MA thesis. T.T

After the interview, the MCs asked everyone to line up for the book signing. They also mentioned that there was an official photographer, but we could also take selfies with Ms. Mina if we wanted to. I have never been good with taking selfies, but for this once in a lifetime event? I was definitely game. (^_^)v

While listening to the bloggers and Ms. Mina talk about books, I remembered the first time I decided that I wanted to write. I haven’t written anything in years and part of me doubts that I can still write. However, hearing Ms. Mina talk about her fears gave me hope that I could do it, too. Thank you for being an inspiration, Ms. Mina. I can’t wait to read your books and write again!

Mina V. Esguerra with the bloggers of Will Read For Feels.

Mina V. Esguerra with the bloggers of Will Read For Feels.

Readers/fans line up to have their books signed.

Readers/fans line up to have their books signed.

L-R: Selfie with Ms. Mina; the books with the bottle of wine I won that day.

L-R: Selfie with Ms. Mina; the books with the bottle of wine I won that day.

Leave a Reply

