Falling in love with The Bye-bye Bouquet: a review

The Bye-bye Bouquet by Chi Yu Rodriguez

The Bye-bye Bouquet is about Meile, the owner of Hope’s Garden, Philip Leigh, her mysterious customer-slash-heart breaker, and Warren, the handsome coffee drinker. Meile’s life is all about flowers: how they should make people happy and how Philip Leigh is destroying all that by using her shop to send “goodbye” bouquets to different girls every month. Despite her dad’s prodding and Rachel’s (her best friend) constant invitations to meet boys, Meile meets handsome smiling Warren in a coffee shop. But, as Meile soon finds out, there is more to Philip and Warren than meets the eye.

“I’m more than sure that you’re worth the effort to at least try though…” We’re attached by our foreheads, eyes closed, breaths shared. His grip tightens around my hand, and I hook my leg over one of his as if to anchor him. “You reminded me how much it can be worth to try.”

Chi Yu Rodriguez writes as if she actually owns a flower shop and knows her way with flowers. Her characters are believable and relatable; it was so easy to see Meile (you’ll have to read the book to find out how to pronounce her name) and the others as real people or to see part of myself in them. I will confess that I wanted to call my fiancé at certain points in the story because the scenes between Meile and her leading man were turning me into a mushy puddle of goo.  It reminded me so much of how it felt like to fall in love. Kakilig!!! There, Chi, I said it; there is no English equivalent for that feeling. ♥ Fangirling aside, Rodriguez was able to end the story without going overboard; a promising sign for her. I can’t wait for your next novella (or novel), Chi! Kudos for a job well done!

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

The Bye-bye Bouquet is available at Amazon for $0.99 for a limited time only. Get your copy now!

Leave a Reply

